Our Board

BCPIAC's Board of Directors consists of community advocates, service providers and legal professionals who are passionate about anti-poverty.

Penny Goldsmith


Penny has worked in the anti-poverty community for over thirty-five years as an advocate, a community organizer and as a writer and editor.

Matt Granlund


Matt is a legal advocate at the Women’s Contact Society in Williams Lake, BC. Matt has degrees in Arts and Laws from the Australian National University.

Lisa Heddema


Lisa Heddema is the Chair of the BCPIAC Board. She is a senior tax lawyer with a background at a national law firm and big 4 accounting firm.

Rose Henry


Rose Henry is a First Nations activist and educator who works on social justice issues affecting all communities.

Iglika Ivanova


Iglika is an economist and public interest researcher with the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives, one of BCPIAC’s partners in the Climate Justice Project.

Pawan Joshi


Pawan is a family law lawyer who operates his own firm in Surrey. Pawan articled with BCPIAC in 2008-2009.

John Lawford


John is Executive Director and General Counsel of the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) in Ottawa.

Audrey Schwartz


Audrey Schwartz is an anti-poverty advocate in Prince George, BC. She has been Executive Director of Active Support Against Poverty (ASAP) since 1987.

Diane Phillips


Diane Phillips is co-founder of Newton Advocacy Group, past-coordinator of the Surrey Access Network and Peoples Empowerment Program.